This is a great debate!
While i personally lean on the side of calling distilled mead a honey brandy, i would agree with most people that commented so far. There isn't a clear category in which to fit a honey-sourced distilled alcohol.
The average person is likely to view mead as a honey-based wine. But, this is not technically correct since a wine is made from fruit, specifically grapes. Nor is mead a rum, since rum is sourced from sugars extracted from a plant such as sugar cane or betts.
While bees make honey from drinking nectar, they also transform it through partial digestion, mix some pollen and enzymes in the process, evaporated it and then regurgitate the mixture into honey comb cells. This qualifies honey as an animal-based sugar source. So, technically, honey would be closer to other animal-based sugar sources like maltose in milk, and might be better recognized scientifically as a kumiss. But, personally i hate that name, and i doubt that it would have good marketting value either.
For what it is worth, i did come across a commercial name for a British alcohol distilled from mead, called the "Ninemaidens". The company web site (www.foodfromcornwall.co.uk) has the following description: "It is a crystal clear, vibrant spirit with a floral, honeyed bouquet and a warm rounded finish. 40% alcohol by volume. The name 'Gwires' (pronounced gwi'rez) is taken from the Cornish word meaning alcoholic spirit, and it is produced by distilling the highest quality mead."
So, perhaps Gwires is another contender for the title of distilled mead!?