Take the 2-minute tour ×
Homebrewing Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for dedicated home brewers and serious enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

There's been a lot of discussion around Clarity Ferm, and it's ability to break down gluten in beer.

The manufacturers just say it makes "gluten reduced beer", but Omission and others uses it to make what I believe is labelled a "gluten free".

Some home-brewers have made an all-grain with barley and wheat, and had it tested, and the lab could detect no gluten (they were only able to say there were <10 ppm).

Charlie Papazian did the same, with more detailed results:

"I homebrewed a batch of all malt beer called Slithy Tove Pale Ale (which included 10% malted wheat) to which I added 3 ml (about 3 drops) to a five gallon batch at the beginning of fermentation.

The homebrewed beer was tested by a professional laboratory. The results came back indicating that the gluten content in my batch of Slithy Tove Pale Ale was “less than 5 ppm.” In other words less than 5 milligrams per liter of beer. In terms of percent, 5 ppm equals 0.0005 percent.. This level of gluten may be tolerated by Celiac patients. Every other aspect of beer character, flavor, appearance (the enzyme did reduce chill haze), aroma, etc. was outstanding and identical to a beer brewed without the enzyme."

My brother-in-law discovered he had CD about 6 months after getting into homebrewing (whcih seems pretty typical).

Does anyone have any experience with this? I'd like to make a small 1 or 3 gallon batch of IPA, and see how it goes.

share|improve this question
    
Any references for what the gluten PPM would be, sans Clarity Ferm? Just curious. –  Ben Mosher Jan 20 at 23:20
    
Just another comment... a lot of people have issue with the type of testing used specifically the ELISA test which is what Charlie P used IIRC. In the article I posted in my answer, they use a newer/better test. –  im1dermike Oct 16 at 17:28

4 Answers 4

up vote 4 down vote accepted

I've made two split batches with Clarity ferm (all barley). I can't tell the difference in taste, some claim it might knock the hops (aroma?) down a bit. The person I made the beer for who has CD hasn't had any (detectable) adverse reactions from these two brews. That said, I don't know the ins and outs of CD and if less than 5 ppm will affect some persons with CD.

share|improve this answer
    
My understanding is that for something to be labeled "gluten-free" according to the FDA, it has to contain less than 20PPM gluten, which Clarity Ferm claims to successfully do when used in proper portions. –  Scott Oct 16 at 17:05
1  
@Scott: Your "gluten-free" understanding is slightly incorrect. As far as beer is concerned, the term "gluten-free" can only be used if the beer was brewed with naturally gluten-free ingredients. For beers brewed with gluten-containing ingredients and an enzyme like Clarity Ferm is added to reduce the amount of gluten in the resulting beer to <20ppm, it can only be called "gluten-reduced", not "gluten-free". –  im1dermike Oct 16 at 19:37
1  
Gotchya, but it's my understanding that in the case of clarify ferm, the end is the same regardless of how it's worded, in that the PPM of gluten is low enough to be safely consumed by someone with Celiacs Disease. Good to hear this seems to be the case without a noticeable loss in flavor. –  Scott Oct 16 at 19:53

I use this in every beer I make. My father is highly allergic to gluten and he is able to drink all of my beer.

share|improve this answer
    
That's great news. Have you tried Clarity Ferm on beers that would be higher in gluten that "normal" beers eg. wheat beer, barley wine, etc.? –  im1dermike Oct 17 at 17:28
2  
I have made every sort of beer I can think of and he has never had a reaction to them. –  Zeeba Oct 17 at 18:22

I use it in every batch. Several local breweries in this area, including a rather large one (Yards) use it as well. Word need to be spread about this fantastic product, as it opens the door for most if not all Celiacs to be able to consume beer again, and to rid us of the awful garbage that is sorghum-based gluten-free "beer" (quotes intentional).

Yes, the FDA has (finally!) adopted the 20ppm threshold for gluten-free labeling, bringing us in line with Europe and most of the rest of the world. The TTB has not, and currently still insists that to be labelled gluten-free the beer must be made with 100% GF ingredients. Efforts are underway to get them to revise their restrictions to be inline with the FDA, but since this is the gub'mint we're talking about it's not likely to be an expedient process. :-(

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.